Pause in the Journey

“My times are in Your hand…” Psalm 31:15

clockpiece

A man’s heart plans his way,
But the Lord directs his steps.
Proverbs 16:9 NKJV

Somewhere about March 1, God pushed the pause button with little conversation.  I wasn’t quite sure why we stopped, but chose to rest in it and trust Him.  Since this blog may be your only contact with me, I feel the need to share with you what is going on in my life.

Last Thursday night, April 14, my husband and I enjoyed going to see “My Big Fat Greek Wedding 2.”  Since I am Greek, we probably enjoyed it more than someone without that heritage. It was like visiting my relatives. 🙂 We laughed a lot and thoroughly enjoyed the movie.  On the way home we stopped for something to eat and got home about 7:30.  I headed to bed early, and Mike stayed up watching a movie.

At 10:45 I woke with a start.  Mike was leaning over the bed shaking me.  “You need to take me to ER.  My heart is acting up.”  Those words catapulted me out of bed and into my clothes in less than 5 minutes.  It was off to the ER 16 miles away.

After preliminary tests and lab work, it was determined that Mike had a mild heart attack, and he would need to be transported by ambulance to the hospital 43 miles away.  Thankfully one of my precious church friends was there to drive me.  It was now 1:30 am.

They ran all the tests again and decided a catheterization was needed to pinpoint the problem.  This procedure requires a cardiologist, so Mike spent the night in the hospital, and I headed home.

On Friday, they did the catheterization and our daughter, son-in-law and five-year-old granddaughter arrived from Missouri.  The doctor reported that they’d tried to do an angioplasty but that the stint would not go through the blockage.  They found three blockages, but they were not in a life-threatening artery.  Mike needed to stay in the hospital until the surgeon could see him.

Saturday at 3 am our two sons arrived from Missouri and Florida.  We were wall to wall air mattresses, but we were all together.

Saturday and Sunday afforded some good family times of healing and hilarity as we sat around Mike’s hospital bed and shared stories, and prayers, and communion.  We needed this as a family and were grateful for it.

Because of a mix-up at the hospital, our surgeon was never notified that Mike was his patient thus we didn’t connect with him until Monday evening.  By then Mike was antsy to get out of there and to feel better.

Final decisions–There will be open-heart surgery, but because it isn’t in a life-threatening location, they are putting it off at least a couple of weeks.  “Go home and do nothing.  Don’t lift anything over 2 lbs.”  The cardiologist and surgeon will meet and discuss their plans, and we will see them in their office in a couple of weeks.

So…On Tuesday he came home about 1:00 and spent the rest of the day visiting with relatives and friends.  Sarah and her family left on Wednesday, and the boys left Thursday morning before dawn.

We have an incredible church family and community.  Prayers for us are going up all over the world, and God is in complete control.  We see Mike coming through all of this without a doubt.  It’s just the fact that he went through this 19 years ago that we are well aware of all that is involved and like Mike said, “I have the faith, it’s the courage that I need.”

With all of this in mind, I don’t know when I will be back to writing, but I will.  Thank you for all your support and prayers.  Our God will supply ALL of our needs according to His riches in glory in Christ Jesus.  He is Faithful.

If you look back at the things He’s led me to research and write this year; you will see along with me that He was preparing us.  He ever goes before us.

Have a blessed Passover..it begins tonight.  Shabbat Shalom.

Leave a Reply

