Lessons on Love from 1 John 4:16 – Lesson 4

 Mercy is Cross-work.  ‘It is FINISHED.’

mercy-is-crosswork

I have known and believed the love God has for me.  God is love and he who dwells in love, dwells in God and God in him.   I John 1 4:16 (personalized)

“Remember the river of Mercy I showed you in Colorado?”

Yes, Lord.

“Mercy is only one facet of My love.  You saw it’s endless flow.  You saw it’s power and depth.  You saw how quickly things were carried away when thrown into this river of Mercy.

“Mercy is part of My love because I want you near me.  I want you to come boldly into My throne room.  I am holy and all who come in must be holy.

“When you repent, Mercy quickly carries your sin to the deepest sea, never to be considered again by Me.  Mercy, daily Mercy, is a quick work, yet you hold onto past sins remembering them and allowing those remembrances to keep you for the joy and peace and freedom I have for you.

“Mercy is Cross-work.  ‘It is FINISHED.’  When you are aware of sin in your life, first, confess it. Next, declare, ‘It is finished,’ and see that sin sink immediately into My river of Mercy.  Then, enter My throne room rejoicing, knowing My love is ever available.

My love is available every step of the way, but as you see me quickly remove sin from My view, you will more deeply feel My love for you.

You are My priceless treasure.  You are Mine and I am yours.  Come and ride the river of Mercy with Me and see lives transformed by My love.

You see, once you grasp the truth of this gift, you will be able to more freely and authentically, offer it to others.  Your vulnerability, your life story, your life lessons with Me will be entryways for others to experience My love and be drawn to the river of Mercy.

(In the midst of this conversation, the Lord birthed a song in me.)

Your Mercy flows like a mighty river

Your Mercy flows washing over me

Your Mercy flows like a mighty river

Cleansing, restoring, and setting me free!

 Thank You Abba for Your Mercy.

Thank You for Your love.

“ I cannot, not love you.  Love is My DNA.”

 

Lamentations 3:22-23

It is of the Lord’s mercies that we are not consumed, because His compassions fail not. They are new every morning: great is Thy faithfulness. KJV

Micah 7:18

Who is a God like You,

Pardoning iniquity

And passing over the transgression of the remnant of His heritage?

He does not retain His anger forever,

Because He delights in mercy.  NKJV

James 2:13b

Mercy triumphs over judgment. NKJV

Leave a Reply

